Current Elections

Special Election, Senate District 30, March 19, 2019

POST ELECTION AUDIT.  The Iowa Secretary of State called for a recount of the votes in a randomly chosen precinct in the SD 30 Special Election.  For more information, read this News Release.


Eric Giddens (Dem): 7,611
Walt Rogers (Rep): 5,635
Fred Perryman (Lib): 143
Write In: 7

Registered voters:  45,113
Total ballots cast:  13,403
Turnout:  29.71%

Precinct breakdown here.

Governor Kim Reynolds announced on February 18 that the special election in Iowa Senate District 30 to fill the in-session vacancy left by the resignation of Senator Jeff Danielson will be held on Tuesday, March 19, 2019.  The polls will be open from 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM.

LATE BREAKING NEWS:  Due to flooding, voters in Cedar Falls Ward 1 Precinct 1, who normally vote at the Eagles Club on Lone Tree Road, will vote at Cedar Falls City Hall.  See a full news release here.

TIMELINE (For details, see below)

February 23:  Democratic nominating convention
February 25:  Republican nominating convention
March 5:  Candidate filing deadline
March 8: Deadline for physical vote-by-mail absentee ballot request forms to be in Election Office by 5:00 PM
March 11: Absentee (early) balloting begins at Black Hawk County Courthouse
March 12:  Satellite voting, Maucker Union, UNI, 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
March 13:  Satellite voting, Maucker Union, UNI, 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
March 13:  Satellite voting, Diamond Event Center, 5307 Caraway Lane, Cedar Falls, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
March 14:  Satellite voting, Diamond Event Center, 5307 Caraway Lane, Cedar Falls, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
March 16: Courthouse open on Saturday for early voting
March 18: Last day to vote early at Courthouse
March 19: Election Day.  Polls open 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
March 21: Canvass by Board of Supervisors to certify election results


The following candidates were certified by the Iowa Secretary of State:

Republican Walt Rogers 4209 S. Main St CF 319-504-1193 2/28/2019
Democratic Eric Giddens 1416 Madison St CF 319-230-0578 2/27/2019
Libertarian Fred Perryman 2003 College St #12 CF 217-454-7792 3/5/2019

Partisan candidates (Democratic and Republican Parties) on the ballot were chosen by convention.  County central committee members from the 24 voting precincts in District 30 were eligible to vote in the conventions.

The Democratic District 30 convention met at 10:00 AM on Saturday, February 23, at Black Hawk County Democratic Headquarters, 307 E. 4th St., Waterloo, and nominated Eric Giddens.

The Republican District 30 convention met at 7:00 PM on Monday, February 25, at Upper Iowa University, 3563 University Ave., Waterloo, and nominated Walt Rogers.

Non-party political organizations (Libertarian Party) and independent candidates filed in the office of the Secretary of State in Des Moines.  The filing deadline was March 5.

Click here for a Candidate's Guide to the SD 30 Special Election provided by the Secretary of State's Office.


The following voting precincts make up Senate District 30:

  • Black Hawk Township/Hudson/Lincoln Township
  • All precincts in the City of Cedar Falls  (Cedar Falls Township is combined with Cedar Falls Ward 2 Pct. 2 into a single voting precinct)
And the following precincts in Waterloo:
  • Ward 1, Pcts. 1,2,4,5, and 6
  • Ward 2, Pct. 6
  • Ward 5, Pcts. 5 and 6
Click here to see a map of the district.

Click here to see a list of polling places for this election.


Absentee ballots will be available for voting at the Election Office, Room 210 of the Black Hawk County Courthouse, 316 E. 5th St., Waterloo, from Monday, March 11 through Monday, March 18.  Weekday office hours are 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.  We will also be open on Saturday, March 16 from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM for absentee voting.

YOU MAY REQUEST AN ABSENTEE BALLOT BY MAIL NOW. Complete the form at the link below and send it (physically, not electronically) to Election Office, Black Hawk County Courthouse, 316. E. 5th St., Waterloo, IA, 50703. We must receive the request no later than 5:00 PM Friday, March 8. 

Click here for an Absentee Ballot Request form

There will be two satellite voting locations, both operating on two days each:

March 12:  Maucker Union, UNI, 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
March 13:  Maucker Union, UNI, 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
March 13:  Diamond Event Center, 5307 Caraway Lane, Cedar Falls, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
March 14:  Diamond Event Center, 5307 Caraway Lane, Cedar Falls, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

ALL Senate District 30 voters may vote at the designated satellite locations.

Click here for a news release with further details on absentee voting, voter registration, and voting at the polls.

For questions, contact the Black Hawk County Election Office at 319-833-3007 or