County Offices COVID19 Information

wIn attempt to limit potential exposure and spreading of the Coronavirus/COVID-19, Black Hawk County has chosen to close County facilities to the public starting March 18, 2020. We will continue offering essential public services with limited staff.

Beginning March 23, 2020, the Health Department will not provide walk-in services.  Pre-scheduled appointments are available on a limited basis.  Routine services to the general public are available through the Black Hawk County Health Department website.   

If you have any questions please contact corresponding offices listed below. For information on services available to the public please refer to the county website.

Please remember that the State Court Offices also occupy the Courthouse building.  Please contact them to find out about court date and hearing information.   Essential court proceedings will continue.  

Also note the County Attorney’s Office will only be doing fine collection over the phone and only on Wednesdays and Fridays. Please call 319 833-3001 for further information.


County Office Contact information and links for further information

Offices Phone Number Email Links
Assessor 319 833-3006 assessor@co.black-hawk.ia.us
Attorney 319 833-3001 attorney@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Auditor 319 833-3002 auditor@co.black-hawk.ia.us Press Release
Board of Supervisors 319 833-3000 supervisors@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Conservation 319 433-7275 conservation@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Elections 319 833-3007 elections@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Engineer 319 833-3008 engineer@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
General Assistance 319 292-2261 kschipper@countysocialservices.org  
Health Department 319 291-2413 publichealth@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Human Resources 319 833-3009 humanresources@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Information Technology 319 833-3011 it@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Maintenance 319 833-3087 maintenance@co.black-hawk.ia.us  
Recorder 319 833-3012 recorder@co.black-hawk.ia.us Press Release
Sheriff 319 291-2587 For Emergencies call 9-1-1  
Treasurer 319 833-3013 treasurer@co.black-hawk.ia.us Press Release
Veterans Affairs 319 291-2512 veteransaffairs@co.black-hawk.ia.us