Current Elections

June 5, 2018 Primary Election



PRIMARY ELECTION CANDIDATES

See candidate contact information for all candidates on Black Hawk County ballots: Click here.

Filing for primary election candidates is closed.  The county candidate withdrawal deadline is Friday, March 30.  The deadline for objecting to the sufficiency of a county candidate's filing is Monday, April 2.

The following candidate filings have been received for Black Hawk County offices:

Board of Supervisors (vote for two)
Craig White (Democrat)
Dan Trelka (Republican)
Yeshimebet Abebe (Democrat)

County Attorney
Brian J. Williams (Democrat)

County Recorder
Sandie Smith (Democrat)

County Treasurer
Rita M. Schmidt (Republican)

For further candidate information for the 2018 Primary Election, link to the Iowa Secretary of State's website here.

To see candidate filings for state offices, click here.

PRIMARY ELECTION ABSENTEE VOTING CALENDAR
Saturday, April 21 - Military and overseas absentee ballots must be ready to mail.
Monday, May 7 - First day to mail domestic absentee ballots; first day to vote absentee at County Auditor's Office.
Friday, May 25 - Last day to request absentee ballot by mail. Request must be received by 5:00 pm.
Saturday, June 2 - Auditor's Office open eight hours.
Monday, June 5 - Last day to vote absentee at Auditor's Office.


November 6, 2018 General Election

GENERAL ELECTION ABSENTEE VOTING CALENDAR
Saturday, September 22 - Military and overseas absentee ballots must be ready to mail.
Monday, October 8 - First day to mail domestic absentee ballots; first day to vote absentee at County Auditor's Office.
Saturday, October 27 - Last day to request absentee ballot by mail. Request must be received by 5:00 pm.
Saturday, November 3 - Auditor's Office open 8:00 am to 5:00 pm for absentee voting and other business.
Monday, November 5 - Last day to vote absentee at Auditor's Office.